The Asian Pacific Association of Gastroenterology (APAGE) was founded in Tokyo on March 30th 1961. This organization is an affiliate of the Organization Mondiale de Gastro-Enterologie (OMGE).
The APAGE was incorporated in the SAR of Hong Kong, China (hereinafter called Hong Kong) as a legal entity with limited liability and subject to the relevant laws of Hong Kong. The Treasury located also in Hong Kong will issue annual, audited accounts in accordance with the laws of Hong Kong.
Vision, Mission and Specific Aims
APAGE will lead by 2010 in creating a united, multi-cultural and multi-dimensional organization in the pursuit of excellence in clinical practice / education and research towards the improvement of digestive health in this region and the world.
APAGE will endeavour to make the Asian Pacific region excel in education and research in all aspects of gastroenterology, achieving this through fellowship, conventions and journalism, thereby bringing to the region the highest quality of healthcare in this field of medicine.
More specifically, APAGE will
  • hold an annual scientific meeting, the Asian Pacific Digestive Week (APDW)
  • encourage and support co-operative research in the Asian Pacific region
  • encourage and support clinicians, scientists and students to visit the region from outside and within, for teaching, lecture, study and research
  • solicit and receive donations and raise money for furthering the aims of APAGE
Governing Body
The APAGE is governed by a Council consisting of members elected from its member countries and regions at the General Meeting comprising the following: President; Vice President; Incoming two APDW Presidents; Secretary-General; Treasurer; Chairpersons of six committees; six Council Members and up to six co-opted Council Members; and representatives of editor of the Journal of Gastroenterology and Hepatology (JGH). National or regional gastroenterological societies with academic standing in the Asian Pacific region are eligible to be members. Each nation or region is represented by one society.
APDW and Other Scientific Meetings
The APDW is held annually, and in collaboration with member societies and other regional bodies including the Asian Pacific Society of Digestive Endoscopy (APSDE), Asian Pacific Association for the Study of Liver (APASL), International Society for Digestive Surgery (ISDS), and other regional organizations in gastroenterlogy and related fields. Its mission is to convene an annual meeting in the Asian Pacific region that would be an annual major medical forum for education and research especially for Gastroenterology and will be regarded as internationally one of the three regional major meetings (DDW, UEGW and APDW)
In between congresses, member societies will make known to other members their scientific meetings, workshops and seminars through this Homepage, the Journal and other APAGE media to enable interested parties in the region to attend and participate.
JGH Trust
The JGH Trust is a new initiative set up in 1999 by senior editors of JGH with the aim to promoting gastroenterology in the Asian Pacific region. The Trust provides opportunities for training and education for young medical scientists, gastroenterologists, hepatologists and endoscoptists. As at date, the Trust has sponsored the following programmes:
  • Young Investigators' awards at the Asian Pacific Congress of Gastroenterology in Hong Kong, and the meeting of the Asian Pacific Association for the Study of the Liver in Fukuoka
  • The inaugural JGH lectureship at the Hong Kong meeting
  • Seeding grant to senior editors of JGH to initiate the recent consensus guidelines on Hepatitis B and C
  • A new project into the causes, pathogenesis and better management of chronic pancreatitis
Support for other projects is also being considered, such as exchange programmes for trainees or isolated practitioners; visiting lecturer programmes to support the national meeting of smaller gastroenterology societies, or those with a very limited budget are being considered and will be developed in conjunction with APAGE.
The JGH is the official publication of APAGE. This Journal is also the official publication of APASL. The editors and the majority of the editorial board are elected from the member countries and regions of the two Associations. The first issue of this Journal was published in January 1986. Year 2001 marked the fifteenth anniversary of the publication. Throughout this period continuous efforts had been made by the editors, contributors, reviewers and its publishers, now Blackwell Science Asia to improve its quality and standard. Today, JGH can rightly claim considerable achievements in the Asian Pacific region.
The Asian Pacific Digestive News (APDN) was first published in December 1999 as a general interest newsletter which serves to encourage informal communications among colleagues and member countries/related bodies. It aims to give readers a better understanding of the ethnic, cultural and social factors which could modify the clinical expression, prevention and treatment of the gastroenterological diseases found in the region.
Council Members 2018/2020
Executive Committee
Immediate Past President
Prof Dai-Ming Fan
Prof Kentaro Sugano
Assoc Prof Choon-Jin Ooi
Prof Justin Che-Yuen Wu
Hong Kong
Prof Tooru Shimosegawa
Council Members
Prof Shahab Abid
Prof Min-Hu Chen
Dr Tju-Siang Chua
Dr Sneha John
Dr Vu Truong Khanh
Assoc Prof Chomsri Kositchaiwat, Bangkok
Prof Kazuhiko Koike
Prof Keiichi Kubota
Prof Yong-Chan Lee
Dr Mo-Fong Li
Prof Wai-Keung Leung
Hong Kong
Prof Govind Makharia
New Delhi
Prof Dadang Makmun
Dr Metthananda Nawarathne
Prof Nwe Ni
Assoc Prof Raja Affendi Raja Ali, Kuala Lumpur
Prof Jose Sollano
Prof Ming-Shiang Wu
Co-opted Council Members
Prof Tiing-Leong Ang
Prof Emad Munir El-Omar
Prof Varocha Mahachai
Prof Kazuichi Okazaki
Prof Kai-Chun Wu
APDW2018 President
Prof Won-Ho Kim Seoul
APDW2019 President
Dr Mahesh Goenka Kolkata
Representative, JGH Foundation
Prof Ian Roberts-Thomson Adelaide
Committee of Past Presidents
Prof Kentaro Sugano Tochigi
Prof Khean-Lee Goh Kuala Lumpur
Prof Shu-Dong Xiao Shanghai (Deceased)
Prof Kwong-Ming Fock Singapore
Prof Shiu-Kum Lam Hong Kong
Asian Pacific Digestive Week Federation (APDWF)
Prof Kentaro Sugano Tochigi
Prof Dai-Ming Fan Xi'an
Prof Justin Che-Yuen Wu Hong Kong
Afghanistan Gastroenterology & Endoscopy Society Prof Abdul Qassem Ahmadi
Gastroenterology Society of Australia Prof Narci Teoh
Bangladesh Gastroenterology Society Prof Mahmud Hasan
Chinese Society of Gastroenterology Prof Min-Hu Chen
The Hong Kong Society of Gastroenterology Dr Annie O O Chan
Indian Society of Gastroenterology Dr Ajay Kumar
The Indonesian Society of Gastroenterology Prof Dadang Makmun
The Japanese Society of Gastroenterology Prof Tooru Shimosegawa
The Korean Society of Gastroenterology Prof Dong-Ki Lee
Macao Society of Gastroenterology & Hepatology, China Dr Hon-Ho Yu
Malaysian Society of Gastroenterology & Hepatology Dr Soek-Siam Tan
Myanmar GI and Liver Society Prof Thein Saw
Nepalese Society of Gastroenterologists Prof Dinesh Shrestha
New Zealand Society of Gastroenterology Assoc Prof Michael Schultz
Pakistan Society of Gastroenterology and GI Endoscopy Dr Muhammad Sadiq Achakzai
Philippine Society of Gastroenterology Dr Leticia I Guzman
Gastroenterological Society of Singapore

Dr Tju-Siang Chua

The Sri Lankan Society of Gastroenterology Dr Mettaananda Nawarathne
The Gastroenterological Society of Taiwan Prof Ming-Shiang Wu
The Gastroenterological Association of Thailand Dr Sinn Anuras
The Vietnam Association of Gastroenterology Prof Ta Long