Message from the President

It is a great honor and pleasure to write this message as the new President of APAGE. It is a difficult and highly responsible position and Professor Kentaro Sugano has served for four years with his outstanding leadership. His dedicated efforts have transformed the operation of APAGE into a more active and influential organisation. Each member society with a council seat has participated in the discussion together on the APAGE operation including selection of Executive Committee members, proposal of monothematic meetings, endorsement of loco-regional academic activities, and applications to the clinician-scientist training fellowship. Thus, APAGE has remained as an interactive platform for every member society and active participation is crucial to maintain and improve our activities. Furthermore, he promoted the communication and collaboration between APAGE and the affiliated associations such as WGO, AGA, etc. to an unprecedented height. I will continue to expand this cooperation, as I currently serve as the International Member of the National Academy of Medicine USA, Board of Directors of the Union for International Cancer Control, and President of China Anti-Cancer Association. During my presidency term, I intend to increase our membership with the aim of covering the entire Asian Pacific region.

We are also very happy that Ms Molly Kong and Ms Michele Theng continue to work as our secretariat together with our financial assistant, Ms Venus Yeung in Hong Kong. To further strengthening our impact on academics, we have created a new committee in our association. This committee, named Guidelines/Consensus Committee, chaired by Professor Min-Hu Chen, is responsible for the evidence-based practice in the Asian Pacific region which will enhance our impact in the gastroenterological community. We have appointed Professor Varocha Mahachai and Professor Kai-Chun Wu for the Award Committee; Professor Tiing-Leong Ang for the Newsletter Committee; Professor Kazuichi Okazaki and Professor Wai-Keung Leung for the Research Fund Committee and Professor Emad Munir El-Omar for the APAGE-AGA Joint Symposium Committee.

Together with our new Executive Committee members, Vice President Professor Choon-Jin Ooi, Secretary-General Professor Justin Wu, and Treasurer Professor Tooru Shimosegawa, I sincerely thank our member societies for your support to APAGE and do hope that you will extend further input to co-promote our activities. Any success that APAGE may achieve has to come through the joint efforts of those who have come before me and who will join me over the next two years in service to the APAGE.

Professor Dai-Ming Fan
President, APAGE

The Ninth Asian Pacific Topic Conference (APTC 2018 Tokyo) on Up-to-date of Colorectal Cancer
Click here to read
The 1st issue of JGH Open which is a sister journal of the JGH has been launched. Our 1st issue online was on 18th September 2017. We look forward to more submissions from all readers from the Asian pacific region and we hope you can encourage members of your socity/association to contribute articles to the journal. Click here for pdf.
Probiotics Consensus
Executive Summary: Probiotics for gastrointestinal disorders: proposed recommendations for adults of the Asia-Pacific region
Click here to read